shieldhasem.blogg.se

Digital versus contax g2
Digital versus contax g2













digital versus contax g2

When it comes to a serious telephoto work, I just grab my Nikon with telephoto Nikkors. You also had the choice of Auto, Aperture priority.

#Digital versus contax g2 manual#

I worship Contax G2 for its magic wide and super wide angle lenses (like Hologon 16mm and Biogon 21mm). It was a rangefinder camera, but it offered the choice of manual focusing or autofocus. The Contax G1/G2 and Leica-Ms all set focus by measuring ('finding') the distance ('range') to the subject and setting the lens according - as opposed to SLRs (manual- or auto-focus), TLRs and view cameras, where focus is set by evaluating the focus of the actual image itself projected on a ground glass/focus sensor. That's why it's easy to find this lens on e-bay for $100, it's not the main and perfect lens for Contax G2 system. All rangefinders (as Contax G2) are perfect with wide angle lenses, but they are not designed to handle telephoto precise work. I bought the G2 about a year later at almost the same price. The G1, (green label), with the exquisite 45mm Zeiss, was about400 used about 7 years ago.(purchased on Ebay from Joe McNally) Who I guess was going totally digital. Professionally, (in the film era), I mostly used Nikon and Rollei. It is not a lens fault, but a rangefinder focusing algorithm. I have both the Contax G1 and G2, both bought used. That's why I cannot give perfect rating for handling this lens - what's a n importance of excellent optical quality of this lens, if there are serious focusing problems with this lens. When focus is correct, picture quality is outstanding, but do not expect to get 100% perfect results by handling this lens. As a result, up to half of pictures could be out of focus. I have two G2 bodies, and both of them often either miscalculate distance to the object or focus on something else. He is definitely a one draft writer and feeds ideas in his blogs as his hyperactive brain cells churn them out.This is an excellent lens, which has, alas, a big drawback - camera (both G1 and G2) often makes mistakes by focusing this lens. His technical data is (sometimes) worth reading but his other ideas seem to originate from the top of his head. Ken Rockwell floats ideas like leaves on a pond. This is rather a shame as the 21, 28 and 45 G's are by far the best optics I've worked with. As you say, the system is now 'orphaned' and unless a manufacturer some day produces a new camera (I once had high hopes for Bessa and even contacted this manufacturer with my idea in the mid-'00s, but alas, nothing came of it) with the G Zeiss lens mount, they will all end up as expensive collectables. The bokeh isn't quite as nice, especially at wide-open/near-wide-open apertures. There are no 'problems' with the 35mm focal length for the G1/G2, but it's just the least excellent lens in a world-leading bunch. Converters are available to use them on digital cameras (it seems Metabones make the best and certainly the most expensive ones) but a few shooters I know who've used them say results are so-so, the 45 and 90 produce okay images but the 28 and 35 tend to flare and throw up odd artifacts. The G2 has faster autofocus, and is able to focus better in dim light than the G1. These G lenses are now living legends all their own.

digital versus contax g2

My question for the forum is this: Is the Contax G2, along with its supposedly sensational Zeiss glass, enough of an improvement over the Canon? Will pictures taken with a Zeiss lens look that much different from pictures taken with my 40mm f/2.8 Canon lens? I realize that the answers to these questions are probably very subjective, but I am interested in hearing what the forum members have to say about this.Ĭlick to expand.Which is why I own four of these babies. I am okay with that since I love how it looks and the fact that it's supposed to be able to take good pictures. I am aware that the camera contains electronic parts that may not be repairable if it breaks, and that some find the viewfinder to be rather small. I am very close to convincing myself that I must have this camera, even though it costs upwards of two thousand dollars with one or two lenses. However, the Canon does not spark that much of a joy when using it, even though it gets the job done.įor the last few weeks, I have been drooling over the Contax G2 on eBay. I enjoy using them both but I use the Canon more, since I like autofocus, along with a Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM lens.

digital versus contax g2

I have two 35mm cameras that I use regularly: Minolta XD-11 and Canon EOS Elan 7N.















Digital versus contax g2